25.08. – 02.09.2017 Sporthalle Hamburg
weeks
0
1
days
0
0
hours
0
4
minutes
3
3
seconds
1
2

Info

AIBA – Association Internationale de Boxe Amateure

The AIBA (International Boxing Association/Association Internationale de Boxe) is the world association of Olympic boxing. The association was founded in 1946 as the successor organisation to the FIBA (Fédération Internationale de Boxe Amateur) founded in 1920. Currently, 196 national associations and 5 continental associations have joined the world association, including the German Boxing Association.

The aim in the midterm is to establish a separate professional department named AIBA Pro Boxing (APB) under the roof of the AIBA to compete with the established professional associations and, by allowing these professional boxers to participate in the APB, provide them with the possibility to take part in the Olympic Games. This means that amateur and professional boxers would be united under one roof for the first time, enabling them to fight together for Olympic glory.

In the year 2006, the highly controversial 83-year-old Pakistani Anwar Chowdhry was deposed after 20 years as president; his successor and the incumbent president of the world association is the Taiwanese Dr. Chin-Kuo Wu.

The association organises the Olympic boxing competitions and Amateur World Boxing Championships, which take place every two years. In the year 2010, the AIBA set up a new semi-professional league, the World Series of Boxing (WSB) – a global boxing league in which national teams from all over the world compete against one another in what are in the meantime ten weight classes. The WSB, which has been joined by almost 200 associations, unites the best Olympic boxers that represent their respective countries.

AIBA World Boxing Championships:

After the Olympic boxing competitions, the Amateur World Boxing Championships are the most significant competitions in amateur boxing. They are organised by the AIBA. The first World Championships took place in 1974 in the Cuban capital Havana.

Until 1986, the championships were initially staged every four years. The 5th championships took place only three years later, in Moscow in 1989. Since that time, they are staged regularly every two years. The most successful participant to date is the Cuban heavyweight Félix Savón, who has won six gold medals and one silver medal. With 71 gold medals, 32 silver medals and 25 bronze medals, Cuba is by far the most successful participating nation.

German Boxing Association

The German Boxing Association organises and promotes Olympic boxing in Germany. The headquarters and main office of the German Boxing Association are located in Kassel.

Until 2003, the predecessor of the German Boxing Association was the German Amateur Boxing Association. Nowadays, the association is divided into 17 federal state associations with 805 clubs and 73,200 members. It is a member of the European Boxing Confederation (EUBC) and the Association Internationale de Boxe Amateure (AIBA) world association.

The German Boxing Association stages the German Championships and organises the Bundesligas (1 and 2).

Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

With more than 10 million overnight stays per year, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg is one of the most popular city travel destinations in Germany, offering a whole host of tourist attractions.

Water is the most distinctive feature of the city. With its world-famous Reeperbahn, Hamburg has some of the keenest sports enthusiasts to be found in any metropolitan area in Europe and the world. Every year, countless athletes visit this city and are cheered on by enthusiastic spectators in the extensively equipped event arenas.

In order to present itself once again as an international metropolitan area with a keen interest in sport and to strengthen the sport of boxing for the future, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg submitted a bid to stage the 2017 World Boxing Championships two years ago. As a general principle, Olympic boxing – and therefore these World Championships – is a major constituent part of popular sport, without which the Hamburg model of combining popular sport and competitive sport would not be possible. Over and above this, by hosting the 2017 World Boxing Championships in Hamburg, the aim is to provide impetus for the development of boxing in the whole of Germany.

Hamburg and boxing already have close traditional links, which is why the 2017 World Boxing Championships are an outstanding supplement to the sports concept of this city. For example, boxing in the boxing basements of the Hamburg Reeperbahn has a long tradition and is becoming increasingly popular among the population of Hamburg. Boxing and its variations are very popular, particularly among young people. By training for many years, children and adolescents develop objectives that they pursue and achieve with discipline and enthusiasm. This gives adolescents the chance to plan their lives independently and take things into their own hands.

The City of Hamburg and the German Boxing Association have made it their task to ensure that the stay of visitors to the AIBA World Boxing Championships is as pleasant as possible and that the positive image of the city is passed on by each individual visitor. Without the financial and organisational support of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg in its function as host city, staging the 2017 World Boxing Championships would be practically inconceivable.

Boxing in Germany

Boxing in Germany can look back on a long tradition and an impressive development. From former heroes such as Max Schmeling and Manfred Wolke, Henry Maske, Markus Beyer, all the way to Arthur Abraham and Felix Sturm, German boxing has consistently produced exceptional athletes. In the national Olympic assessment, Germany holds one of the top places.

German women are also very successful boxers: Regina Halmich, Ina Menzer and Sarah Scheurich are only a few of those who have won titles at international championships.

With very promising talents such as Erik Pfeifer, Artem Harutyunyan or Serge Michel, there remains no doubt that Germany will also assume an important role at championship events in future.

The German spectators’ enthusiasm for boxing can be seen equally at professional and amateur competitions. Here, the City of Hamburg is one of the strongholds of German boxing: it has been able not only to thrill an audience of millions at bouts involving the Klitschko brothers and other professionals but also to demonstrate its suitability as a venue of the APB Boxing Night.

In 1982 and 1995, Germany was the venue for the AIBA World Boxing Championships in Munich and Berlin. Germany has a long tradition in professional and amateur boxing and is able to present a number of significant boxing events in both areas. Alongside the above-mentioned World Championships, this is highlighted in particular by the Chemiepokal in Halle and the Brandenburg Cup for young boxers. Since 1970, amateurs from Australia, China, Germany, Great Britain, Israel, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Turkey and Uzbekistan have been boxing at the Chemiepokal at the very highest level. The high-ranking field of competitors the last few times the event was hosted has produced numerous world champions and Olympic champions. At the Brandenburg Cup, around 150 young boxers from 20 nations acquire important experience in an international tournament.

In the last few years, Germany has also been a successful partner of the AIBA within the framework of the newly introduced WSB and APB series. This has meant that the City of Hamburg and the Hamburg audience have been able to enjoy the first AIBA competitive bouts in their city.

sponsored by

Send this to a friend

25.08. – 02.09.2017 Sporthalle Hamburg
weeks
-1
-2
days
0
0
hours
-1
-3
minutes
-3
-5
seconds
-1
-8

Info

AIBA – Association Internationale de Boxe Amateure

Die AIBA (International Boxing Association/Association Internationale de Boxe) ist der Weltverband des Olympischen Boxsports. Der Verband wurde 1946 als Nachfolgeorganisation der 1920 gegründeten FIBA (Fédération Internationale de Boxe Amateur) gegründet; aktuell haben sich dem Weltverband 196 nationale Verbände und 5 Kontinentalverbände angeschlossen. Dazu gehört auch der Deutsche Boxsport-Verband DBV.

Das mittelfristige Ziel ist, über eine eigene Profiabteilung mit dem Namen AIBA Pro Boxing (APB) unter dem Dach der AIBA in Konkurrenz zu den etablierten Profiverbänden zu treten und diesen Profiboxern über die Teilnahme in der APB die Möglichkeiten zu bieten an den Olympischen Spielen teilzunehmen. Damit wären zum ersten Mal Amateure und Berufsboxer unter einem Dach vereint und könnten gemeinsam um olympische Ehren kämpfen.

Im Jahr 2006 wurde der stark umstrittene 83-jährige Pakistaner Anwar Chowdhry nach 20-jähriger Präsidentschaft abgesetzt, sein Nachfolger und amtierender Präsident des Weltverbandes ist der Taiwaner Dr. Chin-Kuo Wu.

Der Verband organisiert die Amateur-Boxweltmeisterschaften, die in zweijährigem Turnus stattfinden und die Olympischen Wettkämpfe in Boxen. Im Jahr 2010 stellte die AIBA eine neue halbprofessionelle Liga, die World Series of Boxing (WSB) auf – eine globale Box-Liga in der nationale Teams aus der ganzen Welt in mittlerweile zehn Gewichtsklassen gegeneinander antreten. Die WSB, der sich fast 200 Verbände angeschlossen haben, vereint die besten olympischen Boxer, die ihre jeweiligen Länder vertreten.

AIBA World Boxing Championships:

 Die Amateur-Boxweltmeisterschaften sind nach den Olympischen Boxwettkämpfen die bedeutendsten Wettkämpfe im Amateurboxen. Sie werden von der AIBA organisiert. Die erste Weltmeisterschaft fand 1974 in der kubanischen Hauptstadt Havanna statt.

Die Meisterschaften wurden zunächst bis 1986 im Vierjahresrhythmus ausgetragen. Die 5. Wettbewerbe fanden bereits drei Jahre später, 1989 in Moskau statt. Seitdem werden sie regelmäßig im zweijährlichen Rhythmus ausgetragen. Der bisher erfolgreichste Teilnehmer ist mit sechs Gold- und einer Silbermedaille der kubanische Schwergewichtler Félix Savón. Kuba ist mit 71 Gold-, 32 Silber und 25 Bronzemedaillen die mit Abstand erfolgreichste Teilnehmernation.

Deutscher Boxverband

 Der Deutsche Boxsport-Verband e. V. (DBV) organisiert und fördert das Olympische Boxen in Deutschland. Der Sitz und die Geschäftsstelle des DBV befinden sich in Kassel.

Vorgänger des DBV war bis 2003 der Deutscher Amateur-Box-Verband e. V. (DABV). Der Verband unterteilt sich heutzutage in 17 Landesverbände mit 805 Vereinen und 73.200 Mitgliedern. Er ist Mitglied im europäischen Verband European Boxing Confederation (EUBC) und dem Weltverband Association Internationale de Boxe Amateure (AIBA).

Der DBV richtet die deutschen Meisterschaften aus und organisiert die Bundesligen (1. und 2. Bundesliga).

Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg

Mit mehr als 10 Millionen Übernachtungen pro Jahr ist die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg eines der beliebtesten Stadtreiseziele in Deutschland und hält eine Fülle von touristischen Attraktionen im Angebot.

Die von Wasser geprägte Stadt mit ihrer weltbekannten Reeperbahn zählt zu den sportbegeistertsten Metropolen Europas und der Welt. Jährlich besuchen unzählige von Sportlerinnen und Sportlern diese Stadt und werden von begeisterten Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauern auf den sehr gut ausgestatteten Veranstaltungsflächen angefeuert.

Um sich einmal mehr als internationale und sportbegeisterte Metropole zu präsentieren und den Boxsport nachhaltig zu stärken, hat sich die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg vor zwei Jahren um die Boxweltmeisterschaft 2017 beworben. Grundsätzlich ist der olympische Boxsport und damit diese Weltmeisterschaft ein ganz wesentlicher Bestandteil des Breitensports, ohne den das Hamburger Modell, die Verbindung von Breiten- und Leistungssport, nicht möglich wäre. Mit der Ausrichtung der Box-WM 2017 in Hamburg möchte man darüber hinaus einen Impuls für die Entwicklung des Boxsports in ganz Deutschland setzen.

Hamburg und das Boxen sind bereits traditionell eng miteinander verbunden, weshalb die Box-WM 2017 hervorragend das Sportkonzept dieser Stadt ergänzt. So hat der Boxsport in den Boxkellern der Hamburger Reeperbahn eine lange Tradition und erfreut sich schon immer großer Beliebtheit in der Hamburger Bevölkerung. Boxen und seine Variationen sind insbesondere unter Jugendlichen sehr beliebt. Durch langjähriges Training entwickeln Kinder und Jugendliche Ziele, die sie mit Disziplin und Eifer verfolgen und umsetzen. Dies eröffnet es Heranwachsenden, ihr Leben eigenständig zu planen und in die Hand zu nehmen.

Die Stadt Hamburg und der Deutsche Boxsport-Verband haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, den Besuchern zu den AIBA World Boxing Championships ihren Aufenthalt in Hamburg so angenehm wie möglich zu machen und das positive Bild der Stadt durch jeden einzelnen Besucher weitertragen zu lassen. Ohne die finanzielle wie auch organisatorische Unterstützung der Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg in seiner Funktion als „Host City“ wäre die Durchführung der Boxweltmeisterschaften 2017 auch gar nicht denkbar.

Der Boxsport in Deutschland

Der Boxsport kann in Deutschland auf eine lange Tradition und eindrucksvolle Entwicklung zurückblicken. Vom frühen Helden Max Schmeling über Manfred Wolke, Henry Maske, Markus Beyer bis Arthur Abraham und Felix Sturm hat der deutsche Boxsport immer wieder Ausnahmesportler hervorgebracht. In der Olympia-Nationenwertung belegt Deutschland einen der vorderen Plätze.

Auch die deutschen Damen sind sehr erfolgreiche Boxerinnen: Regina Halmich, Ina Menzer und Sarah Scheurich sind nur einige der Titelgewinner bei internationalen Meisterschaften.

Mit vielversprechenden Talenten wie beispielsweise Erik Pfeifer, Artem Harutyanyan oder Serge Michel bleibt kein Zweifel, dass Deutschland auch in Zukunft eine wichtige Rolle bei Titelkämpfen einnehmen wird.

Die Boxsportbegeisterung der deutschen Zuschauer zeigt sich bei Profi- und Amateurwettkämpfen gleichermaßen. Die die Stadt Hamburg ist dabei eine der Hochburgen des deutschen Boxens und konnte nicht nur das Millionenpublikum bei Kämpfen der Klitschko-Brüder und anderen Profis begeistern, sondern auch als Austragungsort der APB Boxing Night überzeugen.

Schon 1982 und 1995 war Deutschland mit München und Berlin Austragungsort der AIBA World Boxing Championships. Deutschland weißt im Profi- und Amateurboxsport eine lange Tradition auf und kann eine Reihe von bedeutenden Boxveranstaltungen in beiden Bereichen präsentieren. Neben den genannten Weltmeisterschaften sind insbesondere der Chemiepokal in Halle und der Brandenburg Cup für jugendliche Boxer hervorzuheben. Seit 1970 boxen beim Chemiepokal Amateure aus Australien, China, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Israel, Litauen, Polen, Russland, Türkei und Usbekistan auf allerhöchstem Niveau. Das hochrangige Teilnehmerfeld der vergangenen Austragungen hat dabei zahlreiche Weltmeister und Olympiasieger hervorgebracht. Beim Brandenburg Cup sammeln etwa 150 jugendliche Boxer aus 20 Nationen wichtige Erfahrungen bei einem internationalen Turnier.

In den letzten Jahren war Deutschland ebenfalls erfolgreicher Partner der AIBA im Rahmen der neu eingeführt WSB- und APB-Serien. Die Stadt Hamburg und das Hamburger Publikum konnten sich somit schon über die ersten AIBA-Wettkämpfe in ihrer Stadt freuen.

sponsored by

Send this to a friend